Weather Updates

Incumbent Waukegan Township trustees cruise toward re-election

Updated: March 28, 2013 6:48AM

WAUKEGAN — It was a good night for the incumbents Tuesday in the six-candidate Democratic primary for four open seats on the Waukegan Township Board.

All sitting trustees won what amounts to re-election in a contest that doesn’t feature Republican or independent opposition in April.

With all 37 precincts reporting, unofficial results that include early-voting ballots saw Jeff McBride leading the pack with 2,019 votes (23.9 percent), followed by Percy L. Johnson with 1,521 votes (18 percent), Katherine Rothwell-Francis with 1,503 votes (17.8 percent) and Charles “Chuck” Willms with 1,289 votes (15.3 percent). Finishing out of the running were Larry McShane with 1,205 votes (14.3 percent) and Eula Bates with 885 votes (10.5 percent).

The April ballot will also see Democrats Patricia Jones (supervisor), Rose M. Staben (clerk), Mark Stricklin (assessor) and Michael Hewitt (highway commissioner) unopposed in their respective races, with all but Stricklin running as incumbents.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.