Weather Updates

Two newcomers, incumbent take Mundelein trustee seats

Ray Semple

Ray Semple

storyidforme: 47473141
tmspicid: 17441330
fileheaderid: 7228355
Article Extras
Story Image

Updated: May 12, 2013 1:34PM

MUNDELEIN — The seven-way Mundelein trustee race saw newcomers Dawn Abernathy and Holly Kim earning seats on the Village Board, along with incumbent Trustee Ray Semple.

Unofficial vote totals showed Abernathy with 1,796 votes, Kim earning 1,695, and Semple with 1,592. All precincts had reported.

Long-time incumbent Jim Nutschnig lost his seat with 1,433 votes. Other challengers Alexander Kvasnicka earned 999 votes, Kerry Garesche took 1,002, and Gregory Jacobs earned 559 votes.

Tuesday’s election results will change the dynamic of the board by removing Nutschnig, while Trustee Steve Lentz gave up his seat to campaign for the mayoral post, which he won.

Both Abernathy and Kim openly campaigned with messages touting their independence. Semple, a trustee since 1995, was on a party slate with Nutschnig and political newcomer Garesche.

Abernathy is a long-time area resident who has no political experience. She has moved between Mundelein and unincorporated areas of Mundelein for 20 years and is part of the family that owned the former Abernathy Department Store.

Stimulating economic growth around Diamond Lake is one of Abernathy’s goals as trustee.

Kim — the other reformer — is the manager of marketing and social media for an ambulance accreditation agency, and said she plans to focus on making village events, decisions and online forums more web-friendly and accessible via social media.

The political rookie touts her bilingual abilities and said she will bring the Hispanic and Asian voice to village decisions.

Before joining the board in 1995, Semple spent 10 years on the plan commission. In his private life, he works for a national credit bureau selling property data to mortgage brokers.

Finding affordable senior living is one of Semple’s main goals for his next term, as is proper management of the new six-lot village hall subdivision.

All three will be sworn in during a May 13 village board meeting.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.