Weather Updates

Elmhurst College joins University Center of Lake County

Updated: February 11, 2013 7:17AM

GRAYSLAKE — Elmhurst College is a new member of the University Center of Lake County.

Elmhurst has joined UCLC to make its master of science in supply chain management degree program more accessible to professionals in northeastern Illinois and southeastern Wisconsin, officials said. Recruiting for the new program will soon get underway.

“We’re very pleased to welcome Elmhurst College into the University Center,” said Executive Director and Dean G. Gary Grace. “Our goal is to offer the region access to a flexible array of undergraduate and graduate programs, and Elmhurst’s well-respected supply chain management program seems to be a particularly good fit.”

Officials said the action was taken by the UCLC Governing Board at their December 5,

“This partnership is an exciting opportunity for Elmhurst College to bring Illinois’ first supply chain graduate program, already highly regarded and well-known in the western and northwestern sectors of the Chicago metropolitan area, to a new segment of employers and employees in an area that is home to some of the biggest economic players in the country,” said Dr. Timothy Ricordati, dean of the School for Professional Studies at Elmhurst College.

The MS-SCM program is designed for professionals with at least three years of work experience in any area of the supply chain process, and provides them with a broad perspective on that process. Combining coursework related to logistics, transportation, warehousing and procurement management, the 21-month, part-time program culminates with a team presentation of a “real world” consulting project that requires a year of work and development.

The UCLC ’s other member institutions include Benedictine University, The Chicago School of Professional Psychology, Concordia University Chicago, DePaul University, Dominican University, Eastern Illinois University, Illinois State University, Kendall College, National-Louis University, North Park University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois University, Olivet Nazarene University, Saint Xavier University, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, University of Illinois at Chicago, University of Illinois at Springfield, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Western Illinois University.

Each offers selected programs for a total of more than 110 degree and certificate programs.

© 2014 Sun-Times Media, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be copied or distributed without permission. For more information about reprints and permissions, visit To order a reprint of this article, click here.